The free spirit.

Here is a piece that my colleague, Joe Bird, just wrote about his mother. It’s just beautiful. I read it over and over and repost it here with Joe’s permission.

Joseph E Bird

GCB-sailor edited

This hip chick is my mother.
The photo was taken around the time she began her career as a stay-at-home mom.

After giving my father credit for his hidden artistic talents (and at the risk of turning this forum into Joe’s nostalgia corner), I wanted to take a look at a different creative type.  If my father was a left-brain analytical, my mother personified the right-brain free spirit.

My mother had artistic ambitions. She was good with sketches, and I think I remember her working with pastels. But she was raising a family and it was hard to stick with it.

She was also a musician. She played the clarinet in the high school band (or faked it, as she would say, a skill I managed to master when I was in the band), and she was an excellent piano player. But she was raising a family and it was hard to…

View original post 286 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

