For John Fogerty

I’ve always been a John Fogerty fan.  Back when Creedence Clearwater Revival was in its heyday I waited anxiously for each new single and each new album.  Rock and Roll was never better.   Broke my heart when they disbanded.  Anyhow, here is a lyric I wrote with good, old John in mind.
If you find this, Mr Fogerty, and want to make it into your next hit, all I want is half the writing credit.

I want to hear an old, familiar song

That I’ve never heard before

I want to understand that time

Has stopped before my door

.

I want to think the spirit there

That prospered way back then

Is still alive and waiting for

It’s sun to come again

.

They say the past’s not really gone

The thought makes my heart quiver

‘Cause I left the keys to my T-bird

Beside that old Green River

.

The years have passed since then, I know

But if the stars were right

I’d drop this suit and tie right now

And go back there tonight

.

Chorus

Oh, if I’d hear just one more song

That had that flying sound

I’d turn the radio up loud

And I’d turn time around

copyright 2017

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For John Fogerty

  1. Yeah, I can hear him singing that.

  2. labeak52 says:

    Thanks. I hope he will . . .

Leave a Reply

