Morning Poem, Jan. 27, 2017

 

Jump

Once I stood on a branch

That I thought was my home

No other was there

I was standing alone

.

And the branch started breaking

But I didn’t hear it

And one who I’d not known

Had the guts to come near it.

.

He climbed up the tree

And out on my limb

And said “Watch me jump, man.

Then we’ll do it again.”

.

“There’s nothing to fear

Except being passed by

It’s just water beneath us

If you jump you can fly.”

.

And he dove from the branch

And it shook as he flew

And I looked in the air

At the soles of his shoes.

.

And he yelled at the top

Of the arc of his dive

“Do it once and its over

Then you’ll know you’re alive.”

.

All so I went airborne

And plunged to the deep

And the icy cold lake

Woke me up from my sleep.

.

From there I went on

To a broadening way

And I owe him my life

I broke free on that day.

.

Copyright 2017

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Morning Poem, Jan. 27, 2017

  1. This should be published. In a book. In a library. And schools. And college professors should have their students analyze it for deeper meaning.

  2. labeak52 says:

    Ummm. . . . wow. Glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

