Morning Poem #2, January 14, 2017

Driving home is late and long

I feel old and like it is all too much

Not worth it anymore.  It’s cold outside.

I feel tired and like my dreams were only that

Where are those friends I had who told me to keep on trying?

I turn the radio dial and find only one rant after another

And then that music that is nothing but shred guitar

How in the world has that lasted so long?

I scan the dial one time through and then again

Then, far away, through the static, I hear Van Morrison whisper

“I can hear her heartbeat from a thousand miles. . . “

And I believe again.  Chills down the spine.  It’s all real.  My heart lifts.

copyright 2017

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

