Memory and Muse

 

 

I try to make a post on this blog daily.  I don’t always succeed.  Life and laziness intervenes.  But when I sit myself down to get something out I find that my inspiration or ideas often come out of something that happened a long time ago.  Just today I was reading Giuseppe Mazzotta’s book on Dante and came upon this passage that seemed to sum up or at least fit with the dynamics of composition of this blog and everything else I write:

 He [Dante] certainly knew the famous Greek myth that memory, Mnemosyne, lay with Jupiter for nine successive nights and from their copulations the nine muses came into being, so Memory is the mother of the Muses, which means that art is always an act of remembrance . . .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

