evening post, November 5, 2016

“Yes, I know that I could get out.  I could even sell my house here and just travel back and forth from Florida to the mountains here with the seasons.  And I think that I could learn to love that, or at least like it, for a while.  I’d blend in, find friends in both places and never look back.  It’s not wrong.  I don’t mean that.  But I don’t think that’s what I am to do with my life, with the rest of it, anyway.  I think there may be greater things, greater satisfaction, in another direction.”

“So, the direction is here?  Right here with the raw winters and sweaty summers and the dying economy?  Everybody who could leave is already gone.”

“My direction isn’t about geography.”

“You want to go back in time.”

“I wouldn’t mind that, to tell you the truth.  If I got to pick.”

“You don’t.”

“I want to bring some of the past forward, maybe.  Some of the good stuff.”

“You need to get back to the real world, girl.  You’ve got a chance here.  You could blow it.”

“Here is what I have seen.  Other people with chances, as you call them.  Other people who have a bit of money.  Here is what happens: they find it easy to spend.  Everything around us is in place and set up to make it easy to spend money.  What happens is that they spend it on things that they think will improve their lot and maybe it does improve a bit for a while.  But sooner or later they figure it out that what they’ve bought – what they spent their fortune on – wasn’t really what they wanted or needed at all.  They’ve spent their money, they’ve taken their one shot, and by some measure they have gained, but it isn’t enough.  It wasn’t enough.  It wasn’t worth it. The net effect is dilution.”

“You’re talking about Jeannie?  Jeannie and Fred?”

“Not just them.  But that’s a good place to start.  Look at what they’ve done.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

