Night poem, July 7, 2016

.

The nightstand is piled high
A lamp, a clock, earplugs, tomorrow’s To Do list
And six months’ worth of pocket change
What can anybody do with that these days?

And then the books
Hemingway in Bimini
Sunshine and blue water
Billfishing and naval reconnaissance
Women available and beautiful
Great buddies all around
And constant drinking.

Jane Austen. Yes, really
Who knew more about men?
Nobody.

Seamus Heaney, I should read him more
(Particularly if I am serious about poetry)
The poems don’t sink in at first
But there are a few – Anahorish
And the one about the tench fish
These do what poetry is supposed to do
Impart, that is
Tell me something I did not know before.

Czeslaw Milosz, they banned his book
In eastern Europe, from which he escaped.

The Bible. Milosz read that one, too
And Austen, of course
So did Heaney, I’ll bet
I thought I knew what it said
But it looks a little different
With each new opening

I’ll open it again.

Copyright 2016

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

