Afternoon Poem, #2, October 7, 2015

 

 

.

Clouds break apart and the sun paints a bright rectangle on my office wall.

The hint of a dream runs across consciousness

And I want to fall asleep and chase it.

Just a flash of some day on the river long ago

Or was it heaven

We were young then.  All of us still alive.

.

A thick rope swinging from a high branch

The water dappled by the shade of the overhanging boughs

The iron scent from the white spray of the shoals above the blue hole

The motorcycles, parked on kickstands in the tall weeds.

.

I want to fall asleep and chase it.

To leave these papers here on my desk

These circles of margin notes, highlighted paragraphs,

Ex-outs and addenda

And follow the rabbit down the hole

It will come out in sunlight, I know.

 

Copyright 2015

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Afternoon Poem, #2, October 7, 2015

  1. A // W // F says:

    I feel this one, & it resonates with me… Beautiful.

    Thank you. ❤

  2. jacqueline marie says:

    A warm smile spreads across my face as I read this. So nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

