Paul Potts

I am one of those guys who does the same things, over and over again. I have favorite movies (Field of Dreams, Silverado, Pride and Prejudice, Sabrina) that I watch, time and again, and never tire of. I go back to the same novels I love – All The Pretty Horses, The Crossing, Mansfield Park. I memorize lines and say them with the characters when the time comes.

These things that I love have something about them that I can’t quite put my finger on.

Likewise, I find myself going back, again and again, to that video of Paul Potts on Britain’s Got Talent.  You know, his first appearance where he comes onto the stage looking very sad – almost comically sad – and the beautiful people on the panel, who are about to judge him, roll their eyes at each other as this dumpy, rumpled man with broken teeth (who is too old to be chasing dreams)  looks away, knowing what they are thinking, knowing what the whole world is always thinking, and waits.

Disney could not come up with a better, more inspiring story.  Nor could they tell that story any more compellingly – and certainly no more efficiently – than that three-minute video.

There are absolutely no words to describe what happens when the music starts and the little man begins to sing  What happens?  The frog does become a prince.  No.   The frog is revealed to be a prince.  The whole world is changed.  I guess the closest word I can think of is “glorious.”  Little Mr. Potts is in his glory and his glory lifts every ear and heart in the place.

Play it again, Sam.

Here is the link:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1k08yxu57NA

This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

