Country Hit

(Here is a verse or two I wrote decades ago when I was still thinking about publishing and recording songs.  It’s the work of a much younger man, obviously, and, obviously, very incomplete.  But, here it is, in all its glory and lack thereof  If any of you country songwriters find this irresistible and want to collaborate, inquire within.)

 

I was thinking about findin’ some way to join up a country band

But then I’d have to learn to play the steel guitar.

Then I thought about going downtown to find me a sweetheart

With pretty hair and money and a car.

(chorus)

So, Lord, won’t you take it easy on this dreamer

I cannot make it easy on myself

I’m old and young and nothing’s getting clearer

And scared of getting left up on the shelf.

 

copyright 2014

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Country Hit

  1. Felicia says:

    Interesting…I have never written a song before. Do you still have that dream?

  2. This is an opportunity for the lyricist to add the music and post a performance video.

Leave a Reply

