Afternoon Poem, October 13, 2014

Riding Into Darkness

October allows a few opportunities for riding

One bright morning or golden afternoon out of a dozen, maybe

I take them when they come, though

After sixty years, you come to understand how valuable these yellow days are

And how what is left in the office will still be there tomorrow.

 

I knew I was starting late

And that I’d have to cut my loop short

If I wanted to be home by dark

But the blue sky beckoned

And mornings were cold enough now to remind me

Of coming December and January and snow and ice

And so I lit out

And the tires spun on the uncrowded road

And I felt stronger that anyone my age

Ought to be allowed to feel

Like I had been set free

.

The sun was warming and I dreaded the coming winter so

That I wished I could eat the rays

In the rush and thrill of the moment

I deliberately passed by the turn

That would have gotten me home before dark

And rode knowingly and without regret

Into the autumn night.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Afternoon Poem, October 13, 2014

  1. At the window we sat.
    The warm yellow
    of the light overhead
    glowing against
    the gray dusk outside.
    There he goes.
    Riding fast on the street
    one block from his home.
    Into the autumn night.

  2. labeak52 says:

    Ha. That wouldn’t have been me, would it?
    You going to the library this evening?

  3. It was you. I’ll be there, Lord willing and the creeks don’t rise.

Leave a Reply

