Evening Post, October 10, 2014

She told me to come on, that this might be the last warm night before winter.  The stars were out, she said.  I knew that, just by looking. You could see the Milky Way like a highway of diamonds splitting the sky.  I don’t know why I hesitated.  Who knows what goes through your mind.  This night air is like wine, she said.    I  knew she was crazy and that crazy was just what I needed.  She knew that, too.  I tossed the bag onto the floor of the lobby and ran out into the woods, past the lights on the lawn and into the pines, following her.  I loved the way she laughed.

This entry was posted in beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

