Morning Poem, September 20, 2014

THE CASTLE

(Authors Note: Most of the poems I’ve posted here are of recent vintage.  Some of them I have written just to have something to post on a particular day.  I love doing that.  I really don’t think the quality suffers all that much and the thing about writing is, the more I do it, the faster ideas and words keep coming.   That’s particularly true with blogging, where you get the added boost of having thoughtful readers from all over the world read and comment on your work. This poem, however, is different.  I wrote this one a long time ago.  I can’t even remember how long ago – long before there was such a thing as blogging, I am sure.  I don’t even remember where the written version of it might be – somewhere in a drawer or box in the basement or attic?

But this poem came back to me last night.  All of a piece and word for word.  I just remembered it.  Wasn’t trying too.  Don’t know why it happened (something I ate, maybe?)

 

The Castle

 

Cold, still

bluemoonlit night

across the white expanse

the castle stands, snow covered

 

Inside

a thousand candles

shine on

perfect girls in perfect dresses.

 

Dance tonight till the castle shakes.

Dance in my dreams until I awake.

 

 

copyright 2014

This entry was posted in beauty, modern poetry, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

