What I Love About Blogging (IX): Easy Editing

I don’t know about you, but no matter how many times I go over a manuscript or article, no matter how many friends of mine with English degrees have given it a passing grade, when I see it in print for the first time I always see mistakes.  I don’t know exactly why that is.  I guess I read differently when the writing has been professionally formatted.  But it never fails; I always find mistakes – sometimes glaring ones – after it’s too late to do anything about them

With blogging, it’s the same.  After I hit the “publish” button and the writing shoots out into the great, wide world, I read it in published form, see it in a different way, and inevitably, find mistakes.

Ah, but now I can make them go away.  And it’s so easy.  There is that little button at the end of every post: “Edit.”  One click and you’re there and you fix the misspelled word or misplaced comma or take out the sentence that you never should have put in there in the first place and “Update” and it’s just as if the mistake had never been made.

Sweet.
Copyright 2014

This entry was posted in blogging, creative process, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I Love About Blogging (IX): Easy Editing

  1. Brian says:

    You gotta click the Edit button quick before anyone starts reading it though! 😉

    • labeak52 says:

      Well, Brian, catching the mistake before anyone has seen it, of course, is ideal. But I keep editing, day after day. Just because some have seen the mistake doesn’t mean that everyone from then on will have to.

  2. Reblogged this on internetblogtips's Blog and commented:
    BEST TIP
    ………

Leave a Reply

