What I Love About Blogging (VI): Fishing In The Ocean

I have spent a career as a lawyer and one thing the view of the law over passing decades has taught me is that judges can be wrong. I don’t mean crooked or corrupt – that certainly happens, too, but it’s not my point right now. I mean good, well-meaning, honest, smart judges can get it wrong. And they do, time after time. The years pass and it becomes obvious how short-sighted or mistaken a particular ruling was.

How does this relate to blogging? Well, what blogging gives a writer – and in a way that no media ever before could – is a multitude of judges. Judges from every nook and cranny of the world. Judges with widely differing life experiences; with various kinds of education. Judges who have no idea who I am, so their opinions are untouched by any personal bias or prejudice.

Every place in the world has its own prejudices. Remember what Christ said about his own hometown:  “A prophet is not without honor, except in his hometown and among his relatives and in his own household.”

That is why, for me, blogging is so exciting and addictive. The idea that someone, somewhere, with no stake in the matter, would find something I have to say edifying or moving, is quite a rush. Real, trustworthy, encouragement is absolute jet fuel for me, and I look for it every morning with great anticipation. It’s like fishing in the ocean. The whole ocean. With all its mystery and possibility. All at once.

 

Copyright 2014

This entry was posted in blogging, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

