conversation continued

No one here even really knows you. The person you show to the world – to your friends, as you call them – is not the person you really are. You know Robert Flinchbaugh, don’t you?

Everybody knows Robert.

What do you think about Robert?

To tell the truth, I think he’s a clown.

Why?

He wears a bow tie every day. He eats flowers for lunch. The way he talks.

You know why?

I can’t imagine.

Think about it. What is he trying to do? It’s not that he doesn’t know what he’s doing.

There’s a reason for it.

You must think you know what it is.

I do know. But let’s see if you can figure it out. What is Robert after with his odd dressing and eating?

Well, he says that the flowers have something in them.

They’re violets. People do eat them. Have for years.

They don’t all make a big production about it, I’ll bet.

I’d say your right there. What does that tell you?

I don’t know. He wants people to think he’s crazy?

Well, he obviously wants people to think something. What does he want?

I can’t imagine. Whatever it is, it isn’t working.

I agree with that. It isn’t working at all. But what is he aiming at? What does he want people to think about him?

He wants people to think that he’s really smart. Smarter than everybody else.

Is he?

No. If he was smart he’d have better sense than to go on with all those antics. They don’t impress anybody. Don’t fool anybody.

So. Robert is putting on a front. Trying to convince people that he something he’s not. And he’s a mess, right?

No argument from me.

Does he have any real friends?

No. People avoid him. Laugh at him behind his back. To his face.

You’re doing the same thing he is. Except in reverse. You’re trying your best to convince everyone around you that you are no different from anyone else. You are posing.
I do have friends. No one is laughing behind my back. I’m not a clown.
Okay. I’ll give you that. What I am trying to tell you, though, is that no one can really know you, no one can really be your friend, if you’re posing as somebody else.
I’m not saying I buy it. I don’t. But, so what? What if you’re right. So what?

So you’ve cut yourself off from any real friendship; any real life. I would think that would be lonely.

I’m not lonely.

You don’t know what you’re capable of. How much deeper your life could be

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to conversation continued

  1. In the text below, I lose track of who is talking. Maybe one of the lines belongs with another?

    Think about it. What is he trying to do? It’s not that he doesn’t know what he’s doing.

    There’s a reason for it.

    You must think you know what it is.

    I do know. But let’s see if you can figure it out. What is Robert after with his odd dressing and eating?

    And though this is Coach Campbell eavesdropping and he can’t see body language, etc, I’m dying to know what Kelso is really thinking about all of this. Can you give the reader some pauses, or a “hmmm” or something to provide a little emotion?

    • labeak52 says:

      Good catch. The “There’s a reason for it” line should not be separated from the line that comes before. It’s all one speech by Aletha. The rest of it is kind of in order, I think.

  2. labeak52 says:

    You know, when this scene started it was all in the coach’s head, all in his voice, his characterizations of what he had heard. That was one thing. But you guys both wanted the actual conversation and so I did it this way. I’d like to know how Kelso’s face looked, too, but I don’t know how to fix it. This is like the camel that got its nose into the tent – it has taken up way more room than I had ever intended to give it. Nonetheless, I like a lot of stuff in it and I don’t want to give it up. There is more written already and I may try to post it this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

